Nominate New Board for the Digital Americanists

Dear Colleagues,

After a few years at the helm of the Digital Americanists, we three have agreed it is time for new leadership for the group. We were gratified to see the society grow and to organize several engaging sessions at the American Literature Association Conference during our tenure. We are grateful to all of you who have presented work or attended those sessions: DA is a wonderful community we are proud to have led.

Due to other commitments, however, it has been difficult of late for us to give the Digital Americanists the time and attention it requires. We are eager to welcome a completely revamped board who can revitalize the society’s vision and activities. In the past the primary duty of the Digital Americanists board has been to plan 1-2 guaranteed sessions for each year’s ALA Conference, but we encourage the new board to consider expanding the society’s mandate to other conferences and activities. The group’s grounding in the ALA gathering has perhaps unnecessarily restricted a group named the Digital Americanists to include only American literature scholars. In short, we need creative thinkers with vision for what such a group might be in 2016. 

To that end, we would like to accept nominations for all three board positions: president, vice president, and treasurer. In the past these positions have rotated on a three year term, so that someone elected to be treasurer would serve in each position in turn. Given this wholesale restructuring, however, we might suggest that the first group elected agree to serve two years before resuming the rotation—but this could be settled by the new board after their election.

To nominate someone for one of the society’s positions, please email Ryan Cordell at by February 15, 2016.


Matthew Wilkens (President)
Ryan Cordell (Vice President)
Matthew Lavin (Secretary/Treasurer)

Leave a Reply